Rosh Hashanah Recap + A Farm to Table Raspberry Tart

Matthew and I went raspberry picking with friends on Long Island the weekend before Rosh Hashanah. We weren’t sure where we were going or what fruit we were picking, but we were pleasantly surprised to discover a raspberry farm near Syosset. I’d never tasted raspberries fresh from the vine. They weren’t like the mushy half pint you buy in the store. These raspberries were delicious, plump, tangy, and sweet. Next time I need raspberries, I’ll head straight to the farm (or a farmer’s market — wink!).
Berry collage

Berry picking collage 2

I made a raspberry tart from our spoils at the farm, and I served it for Rosh Hashanah lunch. The tart was tangy and sweet, and the raspberries almost formed a jelly filling. There were no runny juices, and the tart cut cleanly. I followed BakeNoir’s recipe; it was excellent.

Below are my menus from Rosh Hashanah. Matthew and I hosted three big meals. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to snap any photos of the entire table because photography is prohibited on the holiday. However, I would still like to share my menus with you and my lessons learned.

Wednesday Dinner

  • Challah with apples, honey, and apple butter
  • Slow-cooker split pea soup
  • Braised chicken with mushrooms
  • Quinoa with corn and peas (next time – no peas, they shriveled up in the oven)
  • Cherry tomato salad with balsamic vinegar and mint
  • Parsley potatoes
  • Dorie Greenspan’s Double Apple Pie (with grated apples and apple butter) in Baking: From My Home to Yours

Thursday Lunch

  • Challah with apples, honey, and apple butter
  • Green salad with purple cabbage
  • Spicy cumin carrot slaw with raisins (oddly a big hit with children but not adults!), loosely adapted from Smitten Kitchen
  • Coke roast from Emeril 
  • Apple sausage stuffing from Epicurious (delicious! keeps and heats up well — we hardly had any leftovers)
  • Sweet potato soufflé (next time I’d omit the sugar in the sweet potatoes; this tasted too sweet, like dessert)
  • Green beans with garlic and butter (next time I’d use oil — the butter didn’t heat up well in the oven)
  • Quinoa with lemon, olive oil, honey, and parsley
  • Raspberry Tart and watermelon

Saturday Lunch

  • Challah with apples and honey
  • Baked French Toast
  • Sliced tomato salad with sea salt, olive oil, and fresh mint
  • Grilled eggplant with salt and pepper
  • Quinoa with lemon, olive oil, honey, and parsley
  • Parsley potatoes
  • Crustless quiche with spinach and white cheddar, loosely adapted Food Loves Writing
  • Oatmeal raisin cookies and gluten-free coconut-date bites

Final collage

Matthew and I had a great time sharing the holiday with our friends! We were almost settled into our new apartment (minus our couch *sigh*), and we were excited to invite our friends over. It was lots of fun. When you live far from where you grew up, your friends really do become your family.


Leave a Reply

